Abstraction

The abstraction I created is based on musical/rhythmic abstractions. The song I used was “U,U,D,D,L,R,L,R,A,B,Select,Start” by Deftones and I used construction paper to create the animation. I used circles to represent the bass drum, squares to represent the snare drum, and a line moving throughout to represent the beat. The line changes direction and color whenever the measure hits four beats to help visualize the rhythm of the song. I was very successful in achieving and communicating this concept.  The music syncs with the animation in such a way that allows for visual representation of the music and beats that are heard throughout.  In order for the animation to match up with the music, I had to do research, take notes, and complete mathematical concepts before I began the animation process.

After I came up with my concept, I researched Oskar Fischinger and James Whitney who are both known for their abstract musical animations. I watched “Motion Painting Number One” and “An Optical Poem” by Oskar Fischinger, and I also watched “Lapis” and “Yantra” by James Whitney. In “Motion Painting Number One,” a line moves throughout some of the middle part of the animation. This helped me in using my line in my animation. In “An Optical Poem,” shapes are used throughout the animation to represent notes in the music, which gave me ideas as to how I can incorporate them into my animation. “Lapis” influenced the music I chose to use for my animation. After watching the animation in class, I wanted to use an Eastern influenced song for my animation, which led me to use “U,U,D,D,L,R,L,R,A,B,Select,Start” by Deftones.

In my film, my strongest motion is when the line moves from left to right. I was able to achieve that motion with minimal shaking of the line. Another strong motion was when the square rotates in a circle. I was able to achieve that by moving it in constant increment between each frame.

Leave a Reply

