Self Portrait

final

For my self portrait, I wanted to portray my general mood and feelings towards the world and life in general, which is usually bleak and dark. I usually describe myself as a very introverted person, and that, combined with my suffering from depression, gives me a feeling that I have to face the day with all that I can give. I gave it a black background to show myself getting swallowed by darkness as the shadows start to form around me. This is a very personal piece to me and I am very pleased in how successful I am in protraying myself.

I focused heavily on the contrast and the value change from the lights to the darks to give the portrait depth and make it three dimensional. I made much use out of the smudge sticks and shammies to blend in the charcoal and give it smooth transitions.

This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

